top of page

Glengarry Cup 2023 Results!

On Saturday, September 23, the Ottawa Branch of the Pipers’ and Pipe Band Society

of Ontario held the Glengarry Cup.

The Glengarry Cup winner, Ian K. MacDonald. Left to right: Brian Williamson (judge), Colin MacLelland (judge), Ian K. MacDonald (overall winner), Ed Bush (judge), Karine Mayers (PPBSO-Ottawa Branch Presedent)

New this year, a Piobaireachd contest was held in the afternoon followed by an MSR contest in the evening. Judges for both events were Ed Bush, Colin MacLellan and Brian Williamson.

After a very successful event in 2022, the event was once again held to coincide with the National Police and Peacekeepers Memorial events on Parliament Hill, which brings in police pipe bands from outside the area. The contest drew a crowd of 100, filling the room at the Army Officers’ Mess, in Ottawa.

Karine Mayers, Ottawa Branch president, shared that “gathering these high caliber performers from across the province fills the Branch with pride; it is so wonderful to see these individuals come to our city to compete.”

The Ottawa Branch wishes to thank Joan Matthews Khan for her generous contribution to the 2023 Glengarry Cup, in particular of the new piobaireachd event that has been added this year. Her support made the event possible this year and insured its success as it continues to grow.

The Glengarry Cup has been awarded since the 1980s when it was donated by the Glengarry Pipe Band. Past winners include Ed Bush, Bruce Gandy, Colin MacLellan, Michael Grey, Andrew Hayes, Rob Crabtree, Andrea Boyd, Matt MacIsaac and many others.

Piobaireachd Winners. Left to right - Brian Williamson (judge), Colin MacLellan (judge), Ed Bush (judge), Karine Mayers (PPBSO- Ottawa Branch President), Scott McIntosh (5th place), Ian K. MacDonald (2nd place), Alan B. Clark (Winner), Andrea Boyd (4th place), Tyler Harris (3rd Place)


  1. Alan B. Clark (Lament for Captain MacDougall)

  2. Ian K. MacDonald (Craigellachie)

  3. Tyler Harris (The Desperate Battle)

  4. Andrea Boyd (Rout of the Lowland Captain)

  5. Scott McIntosh (The Battle of Auldearn - setting No. 1)

MSR Winners. Left to right - Brian Williamson (judge), Colin MacLellan (judge), Ed Bush (judge), Karine Mayers (PPBSO- Ottawa Branch President), Jacob Diker (1st place), Ian K. MacDonald (3rd place), Sean McKeown (5th place), Daniel Carr (4th place), Tyler Harris (2nd Place)


  1. Jacob Dicker

  2. Tyler Harris

  3. Ian K. MacDonald

  4. Daniel Carr

  5. Sean McKeown

The overall winner by piobaireachd preference of the 2023 Glengarry Cup is Ian K. MacDonald.

Also competing in both events, but not in the prize list: Tyler Bridge, Ross Davison, Liam Melville, MacGregor van de Ven.


bottom of page