top of page

Ian K. MacDonald wins 2021 Glengarry Cup

Ian K. MacDonald was the overall winner of the 2021 Glengarry Cup, which was hosted virtually by the Ottawa Branch of the Pipers’ and Pipe Band Society of Ontario. This event was held as part of a series of events to mark the 50th anniversary year of the Branch.

Ten competitors submitted an MSR and piobaireachd of their own choice, with winners determined based on combined scores across both categories and ties broken by piobaireachd preference.

The Glengarry Cup has been awarded since the 1980s when it was donated by the Glengarry Pipe Band. Past winners include Bruce Gandy, Colin MacLellan, Michael Grey, Andrew Hayes, Rob Crabtree, Andrea Boyd, Matt MacIsaac and many others.

Judges for this year’s event were Colin MacLellan for piobaireachd and Ken Eller for the MSR.

A video presentation of the top MSR performances and winning piobaireachd is on YouTube! It can be accessed here.

After two years of being held virtually due to COVID-19, the Ottawa Branch plans to hold the next Glengarry Cup in person in autumn 2022.



  1. Ian K. MacDonald - $500

  2. Bruce Gandy - $400

  3. Alastair Murray - $300

  4. James MacHattie - $200

  5. Dan Lyden - $100


Judge: Colin MacLellan

  1. Alastair Murray - Big Spree

  2. Ian K. MacDonald - Lament for Donald Ban MacCrimmon

  3. Bruce Gandy - The King's Taxes

  4. James MacHattie - Old Men of the Shells

  5. Ross Davison - Lament for the Earl of Antrim

  6. Aidan Bowen - MacKay's Banner


Judge: Ken Eller

All of the Glengarry Cup performances from the ten competitors will be available via the new PPBSO Spotify channel, coming soon!


bottom of page