top of page

Join Us on March 9th: Piobaireachd Contest & Knockout Finals

Please join us this Saturday, March 9th for our annual amateur piobaireachd competition and knockout final.

Piobaireachd Contest

Location: HMCS Bytown Naval Officers Mess, 78 Lisgar St in downtown Ottawa Note: all categories will compete in the first floor dining room

Admission: $7 (includes entry into evening Knockouts event) Doors Open: 12:00 pm First Competitor: 1:00 pm Judge: Alan Clark

Order of Play

“C” Piobaireachd (1 ground, player’s choice)

  1. Gabrielle Soucy

  2. Robert Trayner

“B” Piobaireachd (1 piobaireachd, player’s choice)

  1. Kris Bawden

  2. Matt Goral

  3. Gregory Joseph

  4. Robert Miller

  5. Thomas MacKenzie

“A” Piobaireachd (1 piobaireachd, player’s choice)

  1. David Campbell

  2. Clare Grant

  3. Sean Burgess

  4. Liam Melville

  5. Kenneth Garson

  6. Mike Fenton

Results will be posted at the conclusion of each category.

The Branch is grateful to receive a new trophy for the winner of the “A” category, donated by Donald Buchanan. We will have a special presentation of that new award — the P/M George D. Buchanan Memorial Trophy — after the “A” contest. We encourage all participants and spectators to join us for that, which will take place at approximately 4:30 pm.


Knockout Final

The fun continues into the evening with the culmination of the 2018-19 Knockout season! Order of play will be confirmed by email this week.

Admission: $7 Doors Open: 6:30 pm First Competitor: 7:30 pm Judges: Brian Williamson and Brendan Kelly

“A” Piping (Medley)

  1. Liam Melville

  2. Ross Davison

  3. Hugh Metcalfe

“B” Piping (Medley, 2-5 minutes)

  1. Robert MacLeod

  2. Jamie Letourneau

  3. Megan McIntosh

“C” Piping (March Medley, 2-5 minutes)*

  1. Noah Yateman

  2. Noah Grew

  3. Heidi McIntyre

“40+” Piping (Medley, 2-5 minutes)

  1. Thomas MacKenzie

  2. D.J. McDonald

“A” Drumming (Medley)*

  1. Shahna Summers

“B” Drumming (March, Strathspey, and Reel)*

  1. Walter Gammeter

  2. Sarah MacKinnon,

  3. Britanny Pennington

  4. Xavier Bolivar

“C” Drumming (March Medley, 2-5 minutes)*

  1. Owen Yateman

  2. Alyssa Pakenham

  3. Gavin Pakenham

  4. Raymond Desrochers

“40+” Drumming (Medley, 2-5 minutes)

  1. Thomas MacKenzie

* Finalists in these categories may utilize tunes submitted at earlier Knockout contests


A Wee Note of Congratulations!

The Ottawa Branch is proud to announce that two of its members have been accepted to two of the most prestigious piping competitions in the world. Pipes|Drums reported on March 1st that Ottawa Branch President Jacob Dicker has gained entry to the Silver Medal competitions at both the Northern Meeting at Inverness and the Argyllshire Gathering at Oban this year! Andrew Hayes has gained entry to the Argyllshire Gathering Gold Medal contest, and will compete in the Clasp at the Northern Meeting, where he won the Gold Medal in 2010. Congratulations on this achievement, and best of luck in August!


bottom of page