top of page

Results – Canadian Content Contest & Over 40 Contest

Will Ridley in action

The Canadian Content Contest and Over 40 Contest was very well attended with standing room only.  The evening kicked off with the our new Over 40 Contest which is a new event to commemorate PPBSO Ottawa’s 40th anniversary.  The award was presented to the winner by Joan Matthews-Khan who generously donated to the Ottawa Branch to foster and support Piping and Drumming in the Eastern Ontario region.  Three brave competitors faced a large crowd and of course Bill Livingstone.  Well done over 40’s!

Allan Walker receiving the Over 40 Award From Joan Matthews-Khan

The Canadian Content Contest was a lively affair.  Some of the Canadian composers highlighted were Bruce Gandy, Anne Grey, Michael Grey, Bill Livingstone, Ross Brown, Jim McGillivray, Ed Bush, Scott MacAulay  and Bob Worrall.

The Raffle ticket  was drawn by young Finley van de Ven for a basket containing Oban Scotch, Musicians Ear-plugs, Pipes|Drums subscription,  and a Bill Livingstone CD (Northern Man).   The lucky recipient was P/M Alan Clark (Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa).  We would like to thank our sponsors for their generous donations:   Limestone Hearing Care Centre, Pipes|Drums, Bill Livingstone, and the Lunn-van de Ven family.

Bill Livingstone imparted some interesting stories behind some of the tunes making for a very enjoyable competition.  The competition was followed by a recital in which Bill Livingstone played a combination of energetic and some incredibly beautiful tunes.  Bill’s Piobaireachd choices were “Beloved Scotland” and “Lord Lovat’s Lament”.

Bill Livingstone in Recital

After the recital, the winners were announced and the  new trophy graciously donated by the Glengarry School of Piping and Drumming was presented to MacGregor van de Ven.    A thoroughly enjoyable evening!

Top Three Finishers (l to r): Will Ridley, MacGregor van de Ven and Tom Brown

MacGregor van de Ven receiving the Glengarry School of Piping and Drumming Trophy

Canadian Content Competition 1.   MacGregor van de Ven 2.  Will Ridley 3.  Tom Brown 4.  Ross Davison 5.  David Rankin 6.  Chris Dodson 7.   Nico Gravel

Over 40 Contest 1.  Al Walker 2. James van de Ven 3.  Jeff Stellick


bottom of page