top of page

Results: December 1st Knockout, Eastern Ontario Champion Supreme Winners and Upcoming Events

December 1st Knockout Results

The third Knockout of the 2018-19 series enjoyed healthy attendance and a strong entry, with 20 competitors signed up for A, B, C and 40+ drumming events, followed by the A Piping MSR contest.

Knockout Results


“A” Piping

March, Strathspey and Reel

Judge: Chris Dodson

  1. Liam Melville – Dr. E.G. MacKinnon, Mamore, Dr. MacPhail’s Reel

  2. Ross Davidson – John MacDonald’s Welcome to South Uist, Shepherd’s Crook, Sound of Sleat

  3. Hugh Metcalfe – Allan Dodd’s Farewell to Scotland, Glentruim, John Garroway

  4. Bobbie Smith – Donald MacLellan of Rothesay, Ewe with the Crooked Horn, Bessie McIntyre

  5. Nico Gravel – Donald MacLellan of Rothesay, John Roy Stewart, Dolina McKay

  6. Callum McGregor Gauthier – Lochaber Gathering, Highland Harry, Dr. MacPhail’s Reel

Liam Melville competing in “A” piping in front of judge Chris Dodson.

“A” Drumming

March, Strathspey and Reel

Judge: Joe Kiah

  1. Shahna Summers – Carradale Bay, Dornie Ferry, Lexy McAskill

Shahna Summers competing in “A” drumming in front of judge Joe Kiah and with piper Bobbie Smith.

“B” Drumming

One 2/4 March

Judge: Joe Kiah

  1. Walter Gammeter – Hugh Kennedy

  2. Sarah MacKinnon – Duncan McColl

  3. Brittany Pennington – King George V’s Army

Walter Gammeter competing in “B” drumming.

“C” Drumming

One 3/4 March, Two Parts

Judge: Joe Kiah

  1. Owen Yateman – Massed Band 3/4

  2. Raymond Desrochers – Massed Band 3/4

Owen Yateman “C” drumming accepting his scoresheet.

“40+” Drumming

One 6/8 March

Judge: Joe Kiah

  1. Thomas MacKenzie – Duncan McGillivray, Chief Steward

Thomas Mackenzie competing at the September 29, 2018 Knockouts in front of judge Scott Nicholson.

Point summaries for the Knockout series can be found here.

Eastern Ontario Champion Supreme Winners

The winners of the Tom Brown Trophy were the Ottawa Highlanders, pictured here accepting the trophy from Tom’s wife and daughter, Michèle and Abigail.

Left to Right: Jacob Dicker, Branch President; Ryan McDermott, Ottawa Highlanders President; Michèle Miller Brown; Abigail Brown; Donald Buchanan; Jim Bush, Ottawa Highlanders Lead Drummer; Alan McCarthy; Greg Joseph.

The Branch also presented awards to 2018 Eastern Ontario Champion Supreme winners across all categories. Congratulations to all winners! Pictures of award winners can be found on the Branch’s Facebook page.

Upcoming Events

Saturday, January 12, 2019

Registrations are taken online or at the door typically starting at 7:00 pm.

Competitions start at 7:30 pm.

Fee: Competitors and attendees, $7.00 at the door.

Location: HMCS Bytown Naval Officers’ Mess, 78 Lisgar St. in downtown Ottawa.

  1. “B” Piping – Mini MSR (2 parts each tune)

  2. “C” Piping – 2/4 March (2 parts)

  3. “40+” Piping – 2/4 March (4 parts)


bottom of page